Los Angeles Valley College Library: OER: Open Educational Resources: Nursing

Textbooks

Innovative Lesson Plans for Active Learning: Teaching Nursing Research and Evidence-Based Practice by Susan
Strouse, et al (2018): GVSU.

Innovative Lessons Plans for Active Learning: Teaching Research and Evidence-Based Practice is a resource in research and evidence-based practice for active learning in the undergraduate nursing classroom. It is meant to supplement any nursing research text. Designed to provide educators with creative teaching ideas, this text includes a variety of lessons on nursing research topics. Topics include bias, measurement, sampling, theory and more. Lessons provide active learning for in-class, hybrid, and online formats. Each lesson includes objectives, overview, and detailed steps. As an open access resource, the text is continuously in-process. Designed to be independent of any published text, the book compliments any nursing research and evidence-based course.

Online PDF

Nursing Care at the End of Life: What Every Clinician Should Know by Susan E. Lowey (2015): SUNY.

Despite the tremendous growth in palliative and end-of-life care programs across the country, very few nursing education programs provide adequate education on this topic for future nurses. The purpose of this textbook is to provide an in depth look at death and dying in this country and explore the vital role of the nurse in assisting patients and families along the journey towards the end of life.

Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care by Glynda Rees Doyle and Jodie Anita McCutcheon (2015): BC Campus.

This textbook was developed to ensure best practice and quality care based on the latest evidence, and to address inconsistencies in how clinical health care skills are taught and practiced in the clinical setting. The checklist approach, used in this textbook, aims to provide standardized processes for clinical skills and to help nursing schools and clinical practice partners keep procedural practice current.

Vital Sign Measurement Across the Lifespan by Jennifer L. Lapum et al (2015): BCIT.

The purpose of this textbook is to help learners develop best practices in vital sign measurement. Using a multi-media approach, it will provide opportunities to read about, observe, practice, and test vital sign measurement.

Nursing Pharmacology by Chippewa Valley Technical College (2020): WI Technical Colleges Open Press.

This open access Nursing Pharmacology textbook is designed for entry-level undergraduate nursing students. It explains basic concepts of pharmacology and describes common medication classes. This book is not intended to be used as a drug reference book, but direct links are provided to DailyMed, which provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs in the United States.

WTCS

Leadership and Influencing Change in Nursing by Joan Wagner (2018): University of Regina.

Leadership and Influencing Change in Nursing is designed for a single-semester introduction to the professional nurse’s leadership role as both a care provider and a formal leader. An assortment of authors with diverse nursing leadership roles across Saskatchewan and Canada have contributed to this textbook. These diverse voices are focused on providing student nurses with the foundational tools, techniques, and knowledge required to empower them to meet the leadership challenges found within the incessantly changing Canadian health care environment.

Vaccine Practice for Health Professionals by Oona St-Amant, Jennifer Lapum, Vinita Dubey et al (2020): eCampus
Ontario.

This open access textbook is intended to guide best practices in vaccine delivery in Canada. This resource is designed for students in post-secondary health profession programs, including nursing. It may also be useful for graduate students and healthcare providers. This textbook provides information related to clinical practice, including the administration of vaccine, and communication with clients.

Undergraduate Diagnostic Imaging Fundamentals by Brent Burbridge & Evan Mah (2017): University of Saskatchewan.

Diagnostic Imaging principles and concepts are augmented by the presentation of images for common clinical conditions. Guiding principles related to minimizing radiation exposure and requesting the most appropriate imaging examination are addressed.Static images are enhanced by the ability to access images stored and displayed on an Html-5 compatible, Dicom image viewer that simulates a simple Picture Archive and Communication system (PACS). Users can also access other imaging from the Dicom viewer (ODIN), beyond the basic curriculum provided, to further advance their experience with viewing diagnostic imaging pathologies.

Courses

Biomedical Information Technology (MIT OpenCourseWare)
This course teaches the design of contemporary information systems for biological and medical data. Examples are chosen from biology and medicine to illustrate complete life cycle information systems, beginning with data acquisition, following to data storage and finally to retrieval and analysis. Design of appropriate databases, client-server strategies, data interchange protocols, and computational modeling architectures. Students are expected to have some familiarity with scientific application software and a basic understanding of at least one contemporary programming language (e.g. C, C++, Java, Lisp, Perl, Python). A major term project is required of all students. This subject is open to motivated seniors having a strong interest in biomedical engineering and information system design with the ability to carry out a significant independent project.
Essentials in Clinical Simulations Across the Health Professions (coursera)
This 7-week course provides you with key strategies to help understand the foundation of Clinical Simulations. During each module, you will learn about 7 key components of Clinical Simulation Across the Health Professions and its' impact in your current position as a healthcare professional. Please utilize all of the Resources provided by each of the modules to support and enhance your understanding of each concept.
Free Online Medical Terminology Course (Des Moines University)
A fast, easy and fun way to learn medical words and meanings, presented by Des Moines University's department of Medicine and Health Services.
The Impact of Language and Culture on Healthcare Delivery (Open Michigan)
These eight videos depict clinical interactions between health care providers and Spanish-speaking patients. They are designed as both a Spanish language practice tool and as case studies for discussion of critical issues and cultural nuances that can arise in a clinical setting. Dialogue is all in Spanish; patients are all portrayed by native speakers, and health care providers by native speakers and actors with a broad range of Spanish proficiency. The videos range from about 1 minute to 3.5 minutes in length, and for each scenario there is also a version with English subtitles.
Perspectives in Global Health (Open Michigan)
This course introduces the student to global health concepts and the network of organizations working to advance health care internationally. Emphasis for this course is on the global burden of disease and determinates of health. It will provide the student with a broad introduction to programs, systems and policies affecting global health. Students will explore facets of the global health care delivery system, health care economics and the political process and its impact on the health of individuals and populations.
Principles of Human Disease (MIT OpenCourseWare)
This course covers current understanding of, and modern approaches to human disease, emphasizing the molecular and cellular basis of both genetic disease and cancer. Topics include: The Genetics of Simple and Complex Traits; Karyotypic Analysis and Positional Cloning; Genetic Diagnosis; The Roles of Oncogenes and Tumor Suppressors in Tumor Initiation, Progression, and Treatment; The Interaction between Genetics and Environment; Animal Models of Human Disease; Cancer; and Conventional and Gene Therapy Treatment Strategies.
Statistics Online Computational Resource (SOCR) Citations and Licenses (Open Michigan)
The School of Nursing Statistics Online Computational Resource (SOCR) Citations and Licenses offers information about citing and acknowledging SOCR resources by referencing and/or linking to the appropriate data, tools, learning materials, instructional resources, papers, technical reports, events, and other materials.
Utilization of Nursing Research in Advanced Practice (Open Michigan)
The primary goal of this course is to promote an evidence-based approach to advanced nursing practice. Evidenced-based research findings for nursing practice will be evaluated in terms of racial, ethnic, and socioeconomic relevance. An understanding of the research process, applicable theories, organizational dynamics, and leadership functions are applied to design and process of implementing research in health care settings.