Communication in the Real World: An Introduction to Communication Studies (2016): University of Minnesota
Libraries Publishing.
Communication in the Real World: An Introduction to Communication Studies overviews the time-tested conceptual foundations of the field, while incorporating the latest research and cutting-edge applications of these basics. Each chapter will include timely, concrete, and real-life examples of communication concepts in action.
Arguing Using Critical Thinking by Jim Marteney (2020): LA Valley College/ASCC OERI.
Critical thinking is a series learned skills. In each chapter of this book you will find a variety of skills that will help you improve your thinking and argumentative ability. As you improve, you will grow into a more confident person being more in charge of your world and the decisions you make.
Exploring Public Speaking, 4th Edition by Barbara Tucker & Kris Barton (2019): University System of Georgia.
This text includes appendices on online speaking, APA, humor and storytelling in public speaking, and one on Dalton State’s Library. The book also covers use of PowerPoint, audience responsiveness, ethics in public speaking, special occasion speeches, and structure of speeches. Three ancillaries are available: electronic “flash cards” for study, Powerpoints on the 15 main chapters, and test banks for the 15 main chapters.
Stand Up, Speak Out: The Practice and Ethics of Public Speaking (2016): University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing.
Stand up, Speak out: The Practice and Ethics of Public Speaking features two key themes. First it focuses on helping students become more seasoned and polished public speakers, and second is its emphasis on ethics in communication. It is this practical approach and integrated ethical coverage that sets Stand up, Speak out: The Practice and Ethics of Public Speaking apart from the other texts in this market.
Process of Communication by Tammera Stokes Rice (2020): College of the Canyons.
An overview of human communication processes, including historical context. Covers speaking and listening, verbal and nonverbal communication between individuals, within groups, interculturally, and up to mass communications via written and broadcast communications.
Fundamentals of Public Speaking by Tammera Stokes-Rice, Victoria Leonard & Lauren Rome (2019): College of the
Canyons.
This text covers a wide range of topics regarding public speaking, including ethics, speaking with confidence, effective listening, audience analysis, outlining and organizing, speech delivery, introductions and conclusions, visual aid usage, critical thinking and reasoning, and special occasions.
Small Group Communication compiled by Trudy Radtke (2019): College of the Canyons.
This text covers a wide range of topics about small group communication, including group dynamics, team management, small group communication across cultures, verbal and nonverbal communication, leadership, listening skills, problem solving and managing conflict.
Interpersonal Communication compiled by Victoria Leonard (2019): College of the Canyons.
This textbook will cover topics such as: dealing with conflict, how to communicate in professional and personal relationships, and self-presentation in communication. Contains chapters addressing conflict in interpersonal communication and communication in relationships.
Intercultural Communication by Tammera Stokes Rice (2019): College of the Canyons.
This textbook was written and designed especially for College of the Canyons Communications students. The following chapters will cover topics such as: understanding cultural identity (including defining culture, subcultures and countercultures), social construction of identity, including ability, race, gender, and sexuality; cultural biases, and culture shock.
Communication Theory (OER Commons)
Courses in Communication (Saylor)
Introduction to Group Communication (2012 Book Archive)
