Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OER: Open Educational Resources

Textbooks

 

book cover      Child Growth and Development by Jennifer Paris, Antoinette Ricardo, & Dawn Rymond (2019): College of the Canyons. 

A ZTC (Zero-Cost Textbook) published by College of the Canyons in California. Covers development and growth in children from birth to adolescence. Includes physical, cognitive, and social aspects of each development stage. 


book cover      Observation and Assessment by Gina Peterson and Emily Elam (2020): College of the Canyons. 

Covers topics including observation styles and skills, documentation, recognizing biases, qualitative assessment of preschool practices and curricula, tools and techniques for effective observation, special needs children, and family conferencing. 


book cover      Introduction to Curriculum for Early Childhood Education by Jennifer Paris, Kristin Beeve & Clint Springer (2018)
      College of the Canyons. 

This text begins with foundations of early childhood curricula, theory and practice. The textbook covers play-centered teaching, developing curricula to support different learning styles, and guiding behavior and managing the classroom.


book cover      Child, Family, and Community by Rebecca Laff & Wendy Ruiz (2019): College of the Canyons. 

Over the years researchers have found the necessity to develop theories of behavior that are specific to family settings. These theories have been developed by people with a variety of areas of emphasis, from family therapists to gerontologists to child development specialists. In this chapter we will briefly discuss six such theories: Bioecological Model, Family Systems, Functionalism, Conflict Theory, Symbolic Interactionism, and Psychological Perspectives.


book cover      Lifespan Development: A Psychological Perspective by Martha Lally and Suzanne Valentine-French (2017): Martha
      Lally/Suzanne Valentine-French. 

Discusses human development over a full human lifetime, from birth to death. Includes sections about heredity, birth, early childhood, adolescence, early, middle and late adulthood, and a chapter on death and dying. 


book cover      Role of Equity and Diversity in Early Childhood Education by Krischa Esquivel, Emily Elam, Jennifer Paris and Maricela
      Tafoya (2020): College of the Canyons.

Covers topics including diversity, equity, inclusion, culture and cultural differences, children's identity development, anti-bias and equitable educational methods, social justice curricula, resolving conflict related to diversity, language, immigrant and refugee populations, diversity in family structures, gender, religion, foodways, special needs, and the history of systemic oppression. 


book cover      Educational Learning Theories by Molly Zhou and David Brown (2015): Education Open Textbooks. 

Topics covered include behaviorism, cognitive development, social cognitive theory, experiential learning theory, human motivation theory and information processing theory.
 


book cover      Music and the Child by Natalie Sarrazin (2016): Open SUNY. 

This book explores a holistic, artistic, and integrated approach to understanding the developmental connections between music and children. This book guides professionals to work through music, harnessing the processes that underlie music learning, and outlining developmentally appropriate methods to understand the role of music in children’s lives through play, games, creativity, and movement. Additionally, the book explores ways of applying music-making to benefit the whole child, i.e., socially, emotionally, physically, cognitively, and linguistically.


book cover      Observando y Asesorando en Ambientes Educativos by Irma Gonzalez Cuadros (2020): ASCCC OERI. 

A Spanish-only text on Observing and Counseling in Educational Environments for young children. «El juego infantil es un recurso natural inagotable que permanece dentro de cada persona y que estará a su disposición siempre que lo necesite. Sin embargo, es un pozo que requiere llenarse en pocos años, y la calidad del juego que se deposite será lo que alimentará ese valioso recurso durante toda la vida.» -Tina Bruce.
La frase anterior es muy importante para mi, ya que durante este semestre usted tendrá la oportunidad de observar a niños y niñas en acción, en un ambiente natural donde ellos y ellas estarán jugando y aprendiendo mientras están siendo observados y observadas. ¡Nosotros tendremos muchísimo que aprender de los niños y la niñas! ¡Estoy muy emocionada de contar con usted como mi estudiante y compañero de aprendizaje a través de este manual!


book cover      Developmental Psychology by Neil Walker & Fredrick Bobola (2017): College of the Canyons. 

Describes, from a psychological standpoint, human growth and development, with a portion of the text dealing with childhood development. The book includes topics such as developmental theories, heredity and prenatal development, infancy, early childhood, then covers each portion of lifespan development, including adolescence, stages of adulthood, aging, death and dying. For this reason, only portions of this book will be suitable for childhood development courses. 

Courses

Additional Resources

A Child Becomes A Reader (National Institute for Literacy)

Cognitive Development in Childhood by Robert Siegler, Carnegie Mellon University (Noba Project)

Early Childhood Development Bookshelf (LibreTexts)

The Early Years: Child Development and Public Policy by Samuel Berlinski, Norbert Schady (SpringerLink)

ELMS: Early Learning in Math and Science (The Lawrence Hall of Science)

K-5 Math and Technology Resources (Valdosta State University/Galileo OER)

The Role of Play in Children's Health and Development by Ute Navidi (MDPI Books)

Social and Personality Development in Childhood by Ross Thompson, UC Davis (Noba Project)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.