Los Angeles Valley College Library: OER: Open Educational Resources: Reading

Textbooks

BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English 1 by Shantel Ivits (2015): BCcampus.

This reader contains nine original stories about healing, discovery, survival, relationships, justice, and connections to the land explored through the lens of the plant world. These stories, written specifically for adults, are designed to accompany the BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English - Course Pack 1. This level 1 reader, one of a series of six readers, is roughly equivalent to beginner to grade 1.5 in the K-12 system. Font size and line spacing can be adjusted in the online view, and have been enhanced for the print and PDF versions for easier reading. This reader has been reviewed by subject experts from colleges and universities.

BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English 2 by Shantel Ivits (2015): BCcampus.

This reader, written specifically for adults, contains eight chapters about Langston Hughes' family history and personal life. It includes excerpts from many of Hughes' poems and is designed to accompany the BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English - Course Pack 2. This level 2 reader, one of a series of six readers, is roughly equivalent to grades 1.5 to 3 in the K-12 system. Font size and line spacing can be adjusted in the online view, and have been enhanced for the print and PDF versions for easier reading. This reader has been reviewed by subject experts from colleges and universities.

BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English 3 by Shantel Ivits (2015): BCcampus.

This reader contains nine original stories written specifically for adults, and is designed to accompany the BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English - Course Pack 3. This level 3 reader, one of a series of six readers, is roughly equivalent to grades 3 to 4.5 in the K-12 system. New vocabulary and word patterns are highlighted throughout each story, and then summarized at the end. Font size and line spacing can be adjusted in the online view, and have been enhanced for the print and PDF versions for easier reading. This reader has been reviewed by subject experts from colleges and universities.

BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English 4 by Shantel Ivits (2015): BCcampus.

This reader contains nine original stories written specifically for adults, and is designed to accompany the BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English - Course Pack 4. This level 4 reader, one of a series of six readers, is roughly equivalent to grades 4.5 to 6 in the K-12 system. New vocabulary are set in bold throughout each story, and then summarized and defined in a Glossary found in the appendix. Font size and line spacing can be adjusted in the online view, and have been enhanced for the print and PDF versions for easier reading. This reader has been reviewed by subject experts from colleges and universities.

BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English 5 by Shantel Ivits (2015): BCcampus.

This reader contains nine original stories written specifically for adults, and is designed to accompany the BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English - Course Pack 5. This level 5 reader, one of a series of six readers, is roughly equivalent to grades 6 to 7.5 in the K-12 system. New vocabulary are set in bold throughout each story, and then summarized and defined in a Glossary found in the appendix. Font size and line spacing can be adjusted in the online view, and have been enhanced for the print and PDF versions for easier reading. This reader has been reviewed by subject experts from colleges and universities.

BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English 6 by Shantel Ivits (2015): BCcampus.

This reader contains 11 original instructional essays written specifically for adults, and is designed to accompany the BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English - Course Pack 6. This level 6 reader, one of a series of six readers, is roughly equivalent to grades 7.5 to 9 in the K-12 system. New vocabulary are set in bold throughout each story, and then summarized and defined in a Glossary found in the appendix. Font size and line spacing can be adjusted in the online view, and have been enhanced for the print and PDF versions for easier reading. This reader has been reviewed by subject experts from colleges and universities.

A Writer's Guide to Mindful Reading by Ellen Carillo (2017): University Press of Colorado.

Offering a comprehensive approach to literacy instruction by focusing on reading and writing, A Writer's Guide to Mindful Reading supports students as they become more reflective, deliberate, and mindful readers and writers by working within a metacognitive framework. The reading selections, assignments, and activities in this innovative textbook move students toward this goal by providing opportunities to apply and reflect on multiple ways of reading and writing, positioning students to develop a metacognitive awareness crucial to transferring what they learn about reading and writing to other courses and contexts. Because many of the difficulties that students encounter when writing are related to the difficulties posed by reading complex texts, A Writer's Guide to Mindful Reading gives instructors the tools to help students develop a repertoire of reading strategies that will help them become stronger readers and—by extension—stronger writers.

University Press of Colorado

The Word on College Reading and Writing by Carol Burnell et al (2018): Open Oregon.

An interactive, multimedia text that introduces students to reading and writing at the college level. Written by five college reading and writing instructors, this interactive, multimedia text draws from decades of experience teaching students who are entering the college reading and writing environment for the very first time. It includes examples, exercises, and definitions for just about every reading- and writing-related topic students will encounter in their college courses.

Courses

ART of Reading
This module is designed to introduce you to several strategies for increasing the effectiveness of your academic reading. The strategies are especially relevant to reading academic textbooks, but many of them can also be applied to other academic reading material, like journal articles.
Basic Reading and Writing (Lumen)
Lumen Learning provides a simple, supported path for faculty members to adopt and teach effectively with open educational resources (OER).
Reading Anthology: Three Levels (Lumen)
This reading anthology is a curated collection of openly licensed full-text essays and stories on a variety of subjects, designed to be used for discussions and writing assignments. The anthology is organized according to three levels of reading difficulty, but instructors can easily mix and match reading selections. This anthology was curated by Lumen Learning using materials from a variety of open sources.
Thematic Reading Anthology (Lumen)
This anthology is a curated collection of openly licensed primary texts, organized thematically, designed to be used as a reader in English composition. Includes personal essays, literature, video and audio files, Web writings, and long-form journalism, along with customizable assignments and instructor resources. This anthology was curated by Lumen Learning using materials from a variety of open sources.