Introduction to Sociology 2e by Heather Griffiths et al (2020): OpenStax.
Introduction to Sociology 2e adheres to the scope and sequence of a typical, one-semester introductory sociology course. It offers comprehensive coverage of core concepts, foundational scholars, and emerging theories. The textbook presents section reviews with rich questions, discussions that help students apply their knowledge, and features that draw learners into the discipline in meaningful ways. The second edition has been updated significantly to reflect the latest research and current, relevant examples.
Intro to Sociology by Ron Hammond & Paul Cheney (2019): College of the Canyons.
Sociology is a relatively new discipline in comparison to chemistry, math, biology, philosophy and other disciplines that trace back thousands of years. Sociology began as an intellectual/philosophical effort by a French man named Auguste Comte who coined the term “Sociology.” Sociology is the science of society and of human behavior when influenced by society. This book covers foundations of sociology, culture, socialization, social groups, urbanization, deviance, social control, crime, stratification, race, gender, age, politics, economics, religion, the family, and education.
Sociology: Understanding and Changing the Social World by Steven E. Barkan (2019): University of Maine.
The book includes the most recent data in the following categories, so your students have access to the latest sociological trends: crime and victimization, income and poverty, life expectancy and aging, employment, marriage and divorce, education, medical care and health disparities, and fertility and population change.
A Primer on Social Problems: Continuity and Change by Steven E. Barkan (2012).
As this book’s subtitle, Continuity and Change, implies, social problems are persistent, but they have also improved in the past and can be improved in the present and future, provided that our nation has the wisdom and will to address them. It is easy to read a social problems textbook and come away feeling frustrated by the enormity of the many social problems facing us today. This book certainly does not minimize the persistence of social problems, but neither does it overlook the possibilities for change offered by social research and by the activities of everyday citizens working to make a difference. Readers of this book will find many examples of how social problems have been improved and of strategies that hold great potential for solving them today and in the future.
Classical Sociological Theory and Foundations of American Sociology by Allison Hurst (2020): Open Oregon.
There are many excellent introductory readers to sociological theory out there. Why another one? The primary reason is that this is an Open Access textbook, free to you, the student, thanks to Oregon State University. We know that textbooks can be very expensive, and we think it is particularly problematic to charge students for access to work that has been published, in its original form, several decades ago. If you wanted, you could find all of the work included here in your local library, although you would have to put together many different books and articles. That is the second reason for this textbook – important passages have been collected for you, assembled here in one handy volume.
Intro to Women's Studies by Katie Coleman (2017): College of the Canyons.
This text covers foundational sociological theory, then moves into issues of sex, gender, gender roles, gender inequality, language and media, emotions and relationships, LGBTQ+ identities, education and gender stereotypes, work, crime, and suggestions for positive social change. This book is part of the College of the Canyons ZTC book series.
Global Women's Issues: Women in the World Today, extended version by Janni Aragon (2012): BCcampus.
We cannot solve global challenges unless women participate fully in efforts to find solutions. Female participation in the private sector is a crucial economic driver for societies worldwide. Economic security benefits every facet of a woman's life, with positive effects on the health, education and vitality of families. Learn about women who are changing their societies for the better. This book is based on the twelve critical areas of concern identified in the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action at the Fourth World Conference on Women in Beijing in 1995: The burden of poverty on women, unequal access to education and training, inequalities and inadequacies in and unequal access to health care and related services, violence against women, the effects of armed or other kinds of conflict on women, including those living under foreign occupation, inequality in economic structures and policies, and more.
Introduction to Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies by Miliann Kang (2017): UMass Amherst.
This textbook introduces key feminist concepts and analytical frameworks used in the interdisciplinary Women, Gender, Sexualities field. It unpacks the social construction of knowledge and categories of difference, processes and structures of power and inequality, with a focus on gendered labor in the global economy, and the historical development of feminist social movements. The book emphasizes feminist sociological approaches to analyzing structures of power, drawing heavily from empirical feminist research.
Social Science Research: Principles, Methods, and Practices by Anol Bhattacherjee (2012): Global Text Project.
This book is designed to introduce doctoral and graduate students to the process of scientific research in the social sciences, business, education, public health, and related disciplines. This book is based on my lecture materials developed over a decade of teaching the doctoral-level class on Research Methods at the University of South Florida. The target audience for this book includes Ph.D. and graduate students, junior researchers, and professors teaching courses on research methods, although senior researchers can also use this book as a handy and compact reference.
Sociological Inquiry Principles: Qualitative and Quantitative Methods by Amy Blackstone (2012): Saylor Foundation.
This text emphasizes the relevance of research methods for the everyday lives of its readers: undergraduate students. The book describes how research methodology is useful for students in the multiple roles they fill: (1) as consumers of popular and public information; (2) as citizens in a society where findings from social research shape our laws, policies, and public life; and (3) as current and future employees. You will find connections to these roles throughout and directly within the main text of the book rather than their being relegated to boxes.
Principles of Sociological Inquiry by Anne Laurel Marenco (2017): College of the Canyons.
This text emphasizes the relevance of research methods for the everyday lives of its readers: undergraduate students. The book describes how research methodology is useful for students in the multiple roles they fill: (1) as consumers of popular and public information; (2) as citizens in a society where findings from social research shape our laws, policies, and public life; and (3) as current and future employees. You will find connections to these roles throughout and directly within the main text of the book rather than their being relegated to boxes. This material is important, so why discuss it only as a side note? Using a variety of examples from published sociological research, this text also aims to provide balanced coverage of qualitative and quantitative approaches. We’ll also cover some of the debates among sociologists on the values and purposes of qualitative and quantitative research. In addition, we’ll discuss the strengths and weaknesses of both approaches.
A Career in Sociology by Vera Kennedy (2020): LibreTexts.
A Career in Sociology was written for introductory undergraduate courses on sociological practice. The book was designed for faculty and students searching for an open educational resource (OER) that provides sociological terms, concepts, and theories in the study of sociological practice. To adapt to the educational needs of individuals using this book, the instructor or learner must understand the underlying content. And, instructional approach may require additional resources and/or other methods to make the learning experience her or his own.
Beyond Race: Cultural Influences on Human Social Life (Kennedy/LibreTexts)
Immigrant and Refugee Families (Ballard/LibreTexts)
Introduction to Sociology (WikiBooks)
Introductory Sociology (BCcampus)
Intimate Relationships and Families (College of the Canyons)
Minority Studies (Houston Community College)
Principles of Social Psychology (College of the Canyons)
The Process of Research Writing (UMN Open Textbook Library)
Social Issues and Problems (LibreTexts/Boundless)
Social Sciences Texts (IntechOpen)
Sociology Bookshelf (LibreTexts)
Sociology: Brief Edition (2012 Book Archive Project)
Sociology Course List (MIT OpenCourseWare)
