Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OER: Open Educational Resources

Textbooks

book cover       Introduction to Art: Design, Context, and Meaning by Pamela Sachant & Peggy Blood (2016): University of North
       Georgia Press.

This text offers a comprehensive introduction to the world of Art. It includes over 400 high-quality images illustrating the history of art, its technical applications, and its many uses. Combining the best elements of both a traditional textbook and a reader, it introduces such issues in art as its meaning and purpose; its meaning and purpose; its structure, material, and form; and its diverse effects on our lives. 


book cover      A World Perspective of Art Appreciation by Deborah Gustlin & Zoe Gustlin (2019): OER LibreTexts Project/Open
      Educational Resources Initiative. 

An OER text to cover world art on a timeline from prehistoric to modern times with an emphasis on female artists. This book, created by faculty at Evergreen Valley College, traces the history of art from 'the dawn of art' in the form of cave paintings and small objects, to architecture and sophisticated art forms in various global cultures. The book concludes with surveys of contemporary and modern art, all the way into the 21st century. 



Book Cover      The Bright Continent: African Art History by Kathy Curnow (2018): MSL Academic Endeavors. 

This book aims to act as your map through the world of African art. As such, it will help you define the competencies you need to develop–visual analysis, research, noting what information is critical, asking questions, and writing down your observations–and provide opportunities for you to practice these skills until you are proficient. It will also expose you to new art forms and the worlds that produced them, enriching your understanding and appreciation.


book cover       Guide to Ancient Egyptian Art by Ruth Ezra, Beth Harris & Steven Zucker (2019): Smarthistory. 

This book contains all of Smarthistory’s content for Ancient Egyptian art. Contains overview of Egyptian art, starting with Predynastic, then moving to Old Kingdom, Middle & New Kingdom art movements and examples. 


book cover       Guide to Ancient Aegean Art by Ruth Ezra, Beth Harris & Steven Zucker (2019): Smarthistory. 

This book contains all of Smarthistory’s content for the Ancient Aegean art world, including Cycladic, Minoan, and Mycenaean art. 


book cover      Guide to Ancient Etruscan Art by Ruth Ezra, Beth Harris & Steven Zucker (2019): Smarthistory. 

This book contains all of Smarthistory’s content for Ancient Etruscan art. Includes a historical overview of the Etruscan people, as well as detailed histories and review of art techniques used to create many pieces of Etruscan art.


book cover      Guide to Ancient Greek Art by Ruth Ezra, Beth Harris & Steven Zucker (2019): Smarthistory. 

This book contains all of Smarthistory’s content for Ancient Greek art. Begins with an introduction, then discusses pottery, Daedalic & Archaic, Early, mid & Late Classical art, and Hellenistic art. 


book cover      Guide to Ancient Near Eastern Art by Ruth Ezra, Beth Harris & Steven Zucker (2019): Smarthistory. 

This book contains all of Smarthistory’s content for Ancient Near Eastern art. Text includes all of Smarthistory’s content for Sumerian, Akkadian, Neo-Sumerian / Ur III, Babylonian, Assyrian and Persian art. 


book cover      Guide to Ancient Roman Art by Ruth Ezra, Beth Harris & Steven Zucker (2019): Smarthistory. 

This book contains all of Smarthistory’s content for Ancient Roman art. Includes an introduction to Ancient Rome, wall paintings/frescoes, and art styles and techniques throughout the Roman Early, Middle & Late Empire. 

Courses

Additional Resources

AP Art History (Khan Academy) 

Art History (Khan Academy)

Art History Courses (Saylor)

British Museum Collection (Images, collections)

Getty Open Access Collection (Images)

Introduction to the History of Modern Art (CUNY Academic Commons)

LACMA Collection (Images)

Metropolitan Museum of Art: Open Access Collection (Images, videos, & audio)

National Gallery of Art Educational Resources Page (20+ Modules)

Obelisk: An Art History Project (Articles, collections, quizzes, essays, etc) 

Rijksmuseum (Images, collections)

Smarthistory.org (Collections, timelines, courses)

Smithsonian Open Access (Images, collections, data)

Wellcome Collection (Medical history, images)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.