Los Angeles Valley College Library: Respiratory Therapy Resources at the LAVC Library: More Library Databases

More Ways to Search...

Occasionally, in order to find the information you need, your research may require you to utilize even more Library databases than the ones already discussed in this guide. Our recommendations are listed below.

Heads up: If you are using the Library website from off-campus, you will eventually be required to "log in." When that time comes, please follow these directions for logging into the Library website from off-campus.

Health Administration & Management Databases

Healthcare Administration Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Academic articles covering a wide range of topics, including hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, personnel management, ethics, health economics, and public health administration
Health & Medical Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration, and more.

Tip: For additional help with using these databases, you may want to watch the two short videos below that cover basic searches and advanced searches in ProQuest databases:

Health & Medical Databases

Consumer Health (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Includes journals and magazines covering a broad range of health subjects such as sports injuries, women's health, eye care, dentistry, midwifery, food and nutrition, and more.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
Nursing & Allied Health Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles aimed at nursing students, physician’s assistant students, and researchers in allied health fields. Coverage includes specialized care, treatment and patient management.
Public Health Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Collection of public health resources including scholarly journals, dissertations, videos, news, trade publications, reports, and more, Covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences to business.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals across a wide spectrum of subject areas including the physical sciences, engineering, life and health sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.

General / Multi-subject Databases

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is the Library's "discovery" platform. It searches our collection of print books and provides access to ebooks and articles from select databases.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive periodical resource, which brings together complete databases across major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database that provides full-text for more than 9,000 journals, including nearly 8,000 peer-reviewed titles. Magazine and newspaper articles are also included. Coverage includes biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & philosophy, science & technology, veterinary science, and more.
JSTOR Archival Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly and peer-reviewed journal articles across many disciplines. Please note this archive does not include current issues -- a three to five year delay is typical for most publications. Coverage includes economics, philosophy, political science, language and literature, history, art and art history, archaeology, classics, music, film studies, psychology, health policy, public policy, folklore, performing arts, religion, and more.

Additional Help - Research Guides

The following research guides, created by librarians at LAVC, provide detailed instructions for finding articles, eBooks, and books on our website. While the guides focus on using OneSearch (linked above), other useful databases are also discussed and explored throughout.