Los Angeles Valley College Library: Respiratory Therapy Resources at the LAVC Library: Streaming Video

Looking for scholarly/academic video content? The LAVC Library offers students access to thousands of medical- and RT-related videos in our two streaming databases: Films on Demand and Academic Video Online (AVON). Read more about them (and how to use them) below.

Video Database #1: Films on Demand

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
With more than 40,000 titles, Films on Demand features content that will both educate and entertain, covering a wide range of curricular subjects, including the fields of health and medicine. Producers include A&E, PBS, BBC Learning, National Geographic, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, HBO, TED, and more.

Films on Demand offers almost 6,000 videos under the subject Health & Medicine, including collections of videos focusing on topics like Health Care & Treatment (over 2,300 videos) and Health Careers (100 videos). Some RT-related examples are linked below.

screenshot of databases button from library homepage

Films on Demand is accessed through the LAVC Library website. To find it, click on the green, circular "Databases" button near the top of the Library homepage, then, scroll down the alphabetical list and click on Films on Demand. Clicking on the Films on Demand link above (in blue) will also take you to the database.

Heads up: If you are using the Library website from off-campus, you will eventually be required to "log in." When that time comes, please follow these directions for logging into the Library website from off-campus.

Examples of Respiratory Therapy Videos from Films on Demand

A search for respiratory therapy in Films on Demand produces a results list of over 400 videos! You can click the link to see the full results list; a few choice examples are listed below:

Respiratory Care: Assessing the Adult Respiratory System [53.28]
Topics include: initial interview assessment, basic anatomy and physiology, lung sounds of common respiratory diseases, and therapeutic modalities.
Respiratory Therapist [21:37]
Focuses on the responsibilities and rewards of the career: the skills and qualities it requires, and the financial and personal advantages a registered respiratory therapist can expect. Presenting interviews with both young and veteran RRTs, the video describes the 2-year and 4-year training programs that lead to the position and the duties an RRT performs.
COPD Series [15:24]
A series of videos about COPD and its treatment.
Common Treatments for Pneumonia [4:11]
Learn the most common methods used to treat pneumonia and how each one is used to help you recover quickly.
Pulmonary Fibrosis [27:42]
Takes a close look at the disease, the ways in which it is often detected, and current strategies for treating it. Doctors, researchers, and patients are interviewed, presenting several case studies. Viewers will discover how clinical trials may one day lead to a drug that prevents lung function from worsening—allowing patients to live longer.
Free to Breathe, Free to Live [58:09]
Reality-style documentary that allows viewers to step inside the lives of patients who are grappling with respiratory diseases—and winning. Children attending specialized camps for youths with asthma are spotlighted, as are a number of adults battling a variety of chronic obstructive pulmonary diseases, including emphysema and chronic bronchitis.

Tips: Films on Demand

Films on Demand: Search Video [1:27]: This video will demonstrate one way to look up videos and will introduce you to some of the tools available in Films on Demand.
Click on the tags beneath videos to find similar content: if you scroll down below a video, you'll find that it's been labeled with descriptive "tags" (see example, below). If you click on any of these tags, you'll be taken to a list of videos that have been marked with that same tag. This is a great way to quickly find more videos on the same topic you're researching.

Use the "Subject" filter in an Advanced Search: if you're having trouble finding videos on your topic, try clicking on "Advanced Search" (located near the search bar at the top of the screen), then, scroll down to the "Select Filters" area and use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu to select Health & Medicine (see screenshot, below). Now, when you conduct your search, all your results will be from Film on Demand's Health & Medicine Collection.

Video Database #2: Academic Video Online (AVON) / Alexander Street

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary streaming video database with more than 62,000 titles curated for higher education. Alexander Street includes a range of scholarly video material including: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels. Also available are thousands of award-winning films, including new releases, archival material, and titles frequently used for classroom instruction.

A search for "respiratory" in AVON / Alexander Street produces a results list of almost 1,200 videos!

AVON/Alexander Street is accessed through the LAVC Library website. To find it, click on the green, circular "Databases" button near the top of the Library homepage, then, scroll down the alphabetical list and click on Academic Video Online (AVON). Clicking on the Academic Video Online (AVON) link above (in blue) will also take you to the database.

Getting Started: Instructional Video

Learn how to search and browse for videos in AVON / Alexander Street by watching the video below [3:56]:

Tip: AVON / Alexander Street

You can click on the red "filter" button and use the "Subject" menu to narrow your results to "Respiratory Therapy" or one of its sub-categories (see screenshots, below); the resulting set of videos will all be RT-related:

Filter icon in AVON screenshot of dropdown menu, selecting "Respiratory Therapy"