Los Angeles Valley College Library: Respiratory Therapy Resources at the LAVC Library: Library Books

Print Books at LAVC Library

In addition to eBooks, your Library also provides access to a wide range of RT-related print books. Some examples are presented below.

These examples were found by searching the phrase respiratory therapy in OneSearch, the big search bar at the top of the Library homepage. For a more comprehensive list of books, you may want to try using different, RT-related search terms. For in-depth help with finding books using OneSearch, we recommend taking a look at our Find Books Guide.

Please note: in order to check out books from the LAVC Library, students must be currently enrolled, have an official photo ID card, and know their student ID number.

Examples of RT Print Books

The Library might have one of your textbooks! The "Reserve Collection" is comprised of (text)books that are currently being used in classes at LAVC. Checkout time is only 2 hours -- that way, everyone in your class gets a chance to look at the book for free.

Click on the "Older Textbooks" and "Stacks" tabs above (in blue) to see what RT books we have in other areas of the Library.

Egan's Fundamentals of Respiratory Care by Craig L. Scanlan
ISBN: 0801679877
Publication Date: 1994-12-01
This respiratory care guide covers topics such as: scientific principles; clinical assessment; advanced studies such as pulmonary function and blood gases; equipment usage; and ventilation. The text also presents case studies, learning objectives and key terms.
Fundamentals of Nursing by Patricia A. Potter; Anne Griffin Perry; Patricia A. Stockert; Amy Hall
ISBN: 9780323810340
Publication Date: 2022-01-24
Learn the concepts and skills and develop the clinical judgment you need to provide excellent nursing care! Provides a solid foundation in critical thinking, clinical judgment, nursing theory, evidence-based practice, and patient-centered care in all settings. With illustrated, step-by-step guidelines, this book makes it easy to learn important skills and procedures.

Sometimes, it's OK to use an older version/edition of a textbook -- just ask your professor first! Our "Older Textbooks Collection" is comprised of (text)books that are no longer the most current edition. Checkout time is 4 weeks.

Mosby's Respiratory Care Equipment by James M. Cairo
Call Number: RC735 .I5 R4728 2014
ISBN: 0323096212
Publication Date: 2013-07-29
A comprehensive overview of the equipment and techniques used by respiratory therapists to treat cardiopulmonary dysfunction, Mosby's Respiratory Care Equipment, 9th edition provides a "how-to" approach that moves beyond technical descriptions of machinery. Learn to identify equipment, understand how it works, and apply your knowledge to clinical practice.
Respiratory Care Case Studies by Des Jardins; John Burton
Call Number: RC 735 .I5 D46 1997
ISBN: 0815113668
Publication Date: 1996-12-01
Focusing on therapist-driven protocols, Respiratory Care Case Studies presents 29 realistic case studies that take the reader from patient presentation through case "resolution". It employs a formula approach to patient assessment that emphasizes SOAP: Subjective, Objective, Assessment, and Plan reasoning.

The "Stacks" are the rows of tall bookshelves that hold the majority of the Library's books (located to the left of the Library's main entrance). Checkout time is 4 weeks.

The Respiratory System at a Glance by Richard M. Leach; Jane Ward; Jeremy P. T. Ward; Charles M. Wiener
Call Number: RC731 .R493 2006
ISBN: 1405134488
Publication Date: 2006-09-25
A concise, readily accessible introduction and revision text for medical students. The book uses one page of illustrations and one page of text per topic to explain subjects in an easy to understand and clear manner. This book is an invaluable resource for all medical students, as well as students of nursing and other allied health professions who need an introduction to the respiratory system.
Mosby's PDQ for Respiratory Care by Helen Schaar Corning; Stanley L. Bryant
Call Number: RS735 .I5 C8 2006
ISBN: 9780323037471
Publication Date: 2005-12-08
A comprehensive and precise pulmonary reference manual that gives you STAT access to all the vital data you need in the clinical setting. This book is designed for speed with much of the data organized into fast-access charts and tables. The entire scope of adult pulmonary care is included with a brief chapter on Neo/Peds.
Management of the Mechanically Ventilated Patient by Lynelle N. B. Pierce
Call Number: RC735 .R48 P54 2007
ISBN: 9780721603971
Publication Date: 2006-07-24
Functions as both an educational manual and a clinical reference for those involved in monitoring, managing, and delivering care to patients requiring respiratory intervention or mechanical ventilatory support. The book explains everything the nurse or other health care professional needs for safe and effective clinical practice in a complete, easy to understand guide.
Clinical Application of Mechanical Ventilation by David W. Chang
Call Number: RC735 .I5 C466 2006
ISBN: 1401884857
Publication Date: 2005-09-06
With a concise and easy-to-read approach, this book integrates the essential concepts of respiratory physiology with the clinical application of mechanical ventilation. Extensive coverage of airway management and weaning criteria, and a concise view of pharmacotherapy for mechanical ventilation are included. Each chapter features visual examples illustrating concepts, key points summarized in margin references, and assessment questions written in NRBC format, to help prepare learners to sit for the exam.
The Encyclopedia of Asthma and Respiratory Disorders by Tova Navarra
Call Number: RC732 .N37 2003
ISBN: 0816044678
Publication Date: 2003-01-31
Provides students, professionals, and general readers with a comprehensive look at various breathing disorders. It covers key afflictions, symptoms, causes of asthma and lung disease, treatments and medications, key terms and jargon, statistics, and breakthrough research. Twelve extensive appendixes include directories of useful organizations and publications, statistical data, and other helpful information.

Ace your RT exams! The "Stacks" are the rows of tall bookshelves that hold the majority of the Library's books (located to the left of the Library's main entrance). Checkout time is 4 weeks.

Comprehensive Respiratory Therapy Exam Preparation Guide by Craig L. Scanlan; Al Heuer; Narcisco E. Rodriguez
Call Number: RC735 .I5 C464 2019
ISBN: 9781284126921
Publication Date: 2017-11-17
Completely updated to reflect the 2015 NBRC TMC and CSE exams, this book is an extensive study guide for respiratory therapy students and who are preparing to take the exam. This up-to-date, comprehensive resource provides a thorough overview of all content covered on the exam, while also providing students with test taking strategies and tips.
The Comprehensive Respiratory Therapist Exam Review by James R. Sills
Call Number: RC735 .I5 S575 2016
ISBN: 9780323241342
Publication Date: 2015-03-26
Prepare for success on respiratory therapy credentialing exams! Updated to reflect the 2009 National Board of Respiratory Care (NBRC) content outlines, this book helps you review for both entry and advanced level credentialing exams. It covers every testable subject, providing content review, self-assessment questions, and study hints.
Respiratory Care Exam Review by Gary Persing
Call Number: RC 735 .I5 .P453 2016
ISBN: 9781455759033
Publication Date: 2015-02-17
Readies students with review materials for both the CRT and RRT exams! The material is presented in an outline format for efficient studying with special boxes included in the chapter to highlight important information that is often included in the exam.
Entry Level Respiratory Therapist Exam Guide by James R. Sills; Sandra Hogan (Illustrator)
Call Number: RC735 .I5 S575 2005
ISBN: 9780323028240
Publication Date: 2004-12-01
A must-have for anyone planning to take the entry-level respiratory certification exam. It is designed to thoroughly prepare the user by discussing every testable subject that appears on the certification examination. Every chapter includes suggestions on how to prepare for the examination and hints on frequently tested topics.