Los Angeles Valley College Library: Nursing Resources at the LAVC Library: Other Helpful Websites

Beyond LAVC...

Not finding everything you need on the LAVC Library website? Sometimes, your research needs will require you to venture from the Library website in order to find the information you're after. If that's the case, scroll below for some reliable non-LAVC websites that may be helpful. We have organized our recommended websites under the following categories: evidence-based practice (EBP), clinical practice guidelines, health statistics/data, and medication/prescription drugs.

Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) Sites

Introduction to EBP
Self-paced tutorial from Duke & UNC. This tutorial is intended for any health care practitioner or student who needs a basic introduction to the principles of EBP.
Using PubMed in EBP
This training course will show you how to use evidence-based practice when searching clinical questions using PubMed.
American Journal of Nursing (AJN): Evidence-Based Practice, Step by Step
Each article in this collection discusses a facet of EBP. Written from 2009 - 2011, AJN’s Series is developed to give nurses the knowledge and skills they need to implement EBP consistently, one step at a time. The case scenario used throughout is Rapid Response Teams.

Clinical Practice Guidelines Sites

Note: Clinical practice guidelines can be found in CINAHL (Advanced Search > Publication Type > Practice Guidelines) and PubMed (in the far-left column of a results list, click on "Practice Guideline" under "Article Type")

National Databases

ECRI Guidelines Trust
Requires free account registration. ECRI Guidelines Trust is a publicly available online repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. Its purpose is to provide physicians, nurses, other clinical specialties, and members of the healthcare community with up-to-date clinical practices to advance safe and effective patient care. This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally and internationally recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies.
Recommendations - US Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF)
The USPSTF is an independent panel of experts in primary care and prevention that systematically reviews the evidence of effectiveness and develops recommendations for clinical preventive services. These reviews are published as recommendations on the Task Force Web site and/or in a peer-reviewed journal.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Guidelines
Use the advanced search feature to find practice guidelines for specfic diseases and conditions.

Professional Medical Societies' Guidelines

Health Statistics and Data Sites

Local and State Health Stats

Los Angeles County Department of Public Health
Statistics and reports on various health topics such as influenza, STDs, west nile virus, and general health reports related to LA County.
County Health Rankings
How healthy is your community? These annual rankings provide a revealing snapshot of how health is influenced by where we live, learn, work, and play.
California Department of Health Care Services
Vital statistics and reports on health topics relating to the state of CA.
State Health Facts: California
State health statistics from the Kaiser Foundation. Up-to-date health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the United States. In some cases, data are available for counties, territories, and other geographies. Data come from a variety of public and private sources, including Kaiser Family Foundation reports, public websites, government surveys and reports, and private organizations.

Note: you can also find state-level data in some of the (inter)national sites listed below (like the CDC sites, for example).

National and Global Health Stats

FastStats (CDC)
Quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
National Center for Health Statistics: Resources for Students and Librarians (CDC)
The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) compiles statistical information that is used in research by a broad audience including health professionals, policy makers, physicians, health providers, and researchers. This page gathers important sources of information found on the NCHS website of interest to students and librarians.
World Health Organization's (WHO) Annual Statistics Reports
World Health Organization's (WHO) Data Collections
Search for information on countries that are members of the United Nations
HealthStats (The World Bank)
The World Bank’s portal to its comprehensive collection of Health, Nutrition and Population (HNP) statistics. Users can access HNP data by country, wealth quintile, topic, or indicator. The resulting data are made available through tables, charts or maps.
HealthData.gov

Medication/Prescription Drug Sites

National Library of Medicine (NLM) Drug Information Portal
Provides quick access to information on over 12,000 drugs. The portal includes information from the NLM and other government agencies such as the FDA & CDC.
MedlinePlus Drugs, Herbs and Supplements
A trustworthy source of consumer-focused drug information. Learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.
DailyMed
Provides the FDA drug label (package insert) for all marketed drugs in the United States.
Drugs.com Pill Identifier
Use this pill finder to identify medications by visual appearance (imprint, shape, color) or medicine name.