Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Citation and Paper Formatting Guide (APA 7th Edition): Magazine Articles

Tips

Author

If a magazine article has no author, start the citation with the article title.

If a magazine article is written by "Anonymous," put the word "Anonymous" where you'd normally have the author's name.

Titles

Italicize titles of magazines. Do not italicize the titles of articles.

Capitalize only the first letter of the first word of the article title. If there is a colon in the article title, also capitalize the first letter of the first word after the colon.

Dates

If an article has no date, use the short form n.d. where you would normally put the date.

Volume and Issue Numbers

Italicize volume numbers but not issue numbers.

Retrieval Dates

Most articles will not need these in the citation. Only use them for online articles from places where content may change often, like a free website or a wiki.

Page Numbers

If an article doesn't appear on continuous pages, list all the page numbers the article is on, separated by commas. For example (4, 6, 12-14)

Articles from Library Databases

Do NOT include library database information in your magazine citation. If no DOI is available, treat the article as if it was from a print magazine and end the citation after the page numbers.

Formatting

Note: All citations should be double spaced and have a hanging indent in a Reference List.

A "hanging indent" means that each subsequent line after the first line of your citation should be indented by 0.5 inches.

Magazine Article From a Library Database - One Author

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication, Month Day if Given). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Magazine, Volume Number(Issue Number), first page number-last page number. DOI if given

Note: If the magazine article does not have a DOI and is from a library database, end the reference after the page range. Do not include database information in the reference.

Reference List Example

Abramsky, S. (2012, May 14). The other America 2012. Nation, 294(20), 11-18.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year)

Example: (Abramsky, 2012)

In-Text Quote

(Author's Last Name, Year, p. Page Number)

Example: (Abramsky, 2012, p. 14)

Magazine Article From a Library Database - Two Authors

Author's Last Name, First Initial., Second Initial if Given., & Last Name of Second Author, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication, Month Day if Given). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Magazine, Volume Number(Issue Number), first page number-last page number if given. DOI if given

Note: Do not include library database information in the reference.

Reference List Example

Schaefer, N. K., & Shapiro, B. (2019, September 6). New middle chapter in the story of human evolution. Science, 365(6457), 981–982. https://doi.org/10.1126/science.aay3550

In-Text Paraphrase

(First author's last name & Second author's last name, Year)

Example: (Schaefer & Shapiro, 2019)

Note: Separate the authors' names by putting an ampersand (&) between them, not "and."

In-Text Quote

(First author's last name & Second author's last name, Year, p. Page number quote is from)

Example: (Schaefer & Shapiro, 2019, p. 981)

Three or More Authors

Note: For Reference List entries, include all the same information (in the same order) as the examples above. For the final author listed, add an ampersand (&) after the comma and before the final author's last name.

Reference List Example

Kaiser, D., Buford, L.M., & Creager, A. (2012, June). The right way to get it wrong. Scientific American, 306(6), 70-75.

In-Text Paraphrase

(First author's last name et al., Year)

Example: (Kaiser et al., 2012)

In-Text Quote

(First author's last name et al., Year, p. Page number quote is from)

Example: (Kaiser et al., 2012, p. 75)

Magazine Article In Print - One Author

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication, Month Day if Given). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Magazine, Volume Number(Issue Number), first page number-last page number.

Reference List Example

Hessler, P. (2012, May 21). Identity parade: Life in a police lineup. The New Yorker, 88(14), 24-28.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year)

Example: (Hessler, 2012)

In-Text Quote

(Author's Last Name, Year, p. Page Number)

Example: (Hessler, 2012, p. 25)

Magazine Article From a Website

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication, Month Day if given). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Magazine, Volume Number(Issue Number if given), first page number-last page number if given. URL

Note: the words "Retrieved from" are no longer required before the URL.

Reference List Example

Freedman, D.H. (2012, June). The perfected self. The Atlantic. http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2012/06/the-perfected-self/8970/4/?single_page=true

Note: If no volume, issue and/or page numbers are provided, skip them in the citation.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year)

Example: (Freedman, 2012)

In-Text Quote

(Author's Last Name, Year, p. Page Number or Paragraph Number or Section Heading)

Example: (Freedman, 2012, para. 2)

Note: When there are no visible page numbers on the online article, indicate which section (if given) and paragraph the quote came from in your in-text citation.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.