Los Angeles Valley College Library: Psychology Research Guide: Find Sources

Start Searching

Heads up: OneSearch doesn't have everything! Check out the tabs below to search for more specific types of information. For more help searching, visit the Search Effectively page.

Find Sources

Also known as "Scholarly Articles," "Peer-Reviewed Articles," or "Academic Articles," these are:

Written and reviewed by scholars and provide new research, analysis, or information about a specific topic.
- "Review" means the article is approved by other experts before publication
Usually focused on a narrow subject or a single case study
Intended for an academic audience

Find Psychology Articles:

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Database of peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
Psychology Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text for Psychology publications. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.

library shelves filled with books Unlike journal articles, scholarly books:

Are written on a broader, general subject
May contain a collection of related chapters by different authors
Contain less recent information

Remember: you may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!

Find Books & eBooks:

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is the Library's "discovery" platform. It searches our collection of print books and provides access to ebooks and articles from select databases.

List of eBook databases

Cover of the DSM-5-TR The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) is the authoritative guide to the diagnosis and classification of mental disorders.

Features of the DSM-5:

Contains descriptions, symptoms, and other criteria for diagnosing mental disorders
Provides a common language for clinicians to communicate about their patients
Provides a common language for researchers to provide future potential revisions and to develop medications and other interventions.

Find the DSM-5:

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by American Psychiatric Association
Call Number: REF RC455.2.C4 D54 2022
ISBN: 9780890425756
Publication Date: 2022-03-18
Print edition of The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR). The most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers.

List of eBooks Related to the DSM-5
The link above will take you to a results list of LAVC eBooks related to the DSM-5. Click on book titles > "Full text availability" links to access the eBooks.

a piece of paper with various numbers, charts, and graphs on it Reporting hard data will add substance to your sociological research. Remember, data can be represented in different ways.

Examples:

Statistics - One number summarizing a data set (Exs. mean, median)
Tabular Data - data represented in a table
Graphical Data - data represented in a graph or chart

Find Statistics and Data:

Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. They do not take policy positions.
List of Statistical Websites (US Government & International)
US Government websites, international statistical organizations, and national statistical agencies of other countries are all good places to find statistics and data.

Video: Types of Sources

In the following video [3:54], you will learn how to select a resource appropriate to your information need, the importance of analyzing a resource’s capabilities and constraints, and how to determine if a resource has quality information.

Note: clicking on the image below will open the video in a new tab or window.

Psychology Research Guide

Citation Resources

Additional Help