Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Find Articles

More Than OneSearch...


While OneSearch is a great place to start your research, it only covers a selection of the Library's databases (i.e. it doesn't give you access to everything the Library has). In addition to looking for articles in OneSearch, you should also explore the Library's databases individually to appreciate the full breadth of information we may have available on your topic.

Click here to see the full list of LAVC Library databases. Or, you can also click on the "Databases" button on the Library Homepage to get to the list of databases.

What Database Do I Use?


Which of the Library's 50+ databases will be "best" for your research? One way to get help picking a database is to use the drop-down menus located near the top of the A-Z database list (for example, "All Subjects," picture below):

After specifying a subject/type/vendor, our website will suggest the best database(s) for finding articles in that area. To access a database and begin searching, click on the name of the database and log in (if prompted). The interfaces of these individual databases may look different than OneSearch, but don't worry, most of them will still allow you to perform advanced searches and generate full citations.

 

Searching for articles outside of OneSearch? The videos to the left will help with some of our most popular individual databases.

REMEMBER: When in doubt, you can always ask a Librarian for database help and suggestions!

Databases for Scholarly/Academic/Peer-Reviewed Articles


If you can't find enough scholarly sources in OneSearch, try out the following individual databases from our A-Z list (video tutorials for each database can be found in the far-left column on this page):

Databases for Controversial Social/Political Issues


Researching a current, controversial social or political issue? Try out both of the databases below. For in-depth help, please refer to our CQ Researcher and Opposing Viewpoints guides.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.