Los Angeles Valley College Library: Find Articles: Finding Articles

How to Find Articles Using OneSearch

Q: What is OneSearch?

A: OneSearch, located on the Library homepage, is the Library's discovery tool. It searches the Library's collection of print books, ebooks, and a selection of articles from several databases.

Q: How do I use OneSearch to find articles?

A: Type keywords, subjects, topics, authors, titles, etc. into the OneSearch search bar on the Library homepage and click the magnifying glass to initiate a search. Once you are at the results screen, use the search bar's dropdown menu to select the option "Articles Only," then press the magnifying glass again to narrow down your results to articles only.

For help with finding specific types of articles (e.g. scholarly/academic/peer-reviewed, newspaper, magazine), click on the links below, or, use the blue tabs on the upper left-hand side of this guide to navigate to your desired page.

Scholarly/Academic Newspapers Magazines

How To Find Scholarly/Academic/Peer-Reviewed Articles

Once you are looking at a results list, use the limiters on the left-hand side (under "Refine your results") to specify what type of article you want.

For scholarly journal articles, click on "Scholarly Journals" under "Show Only":

In addition to OneSearch, the following databases (found on the Library's A-Z database list) are great choices for finding scholarly/academic/peer-reviewed articles:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database that provides full-text for more than 9,000 journals, including nearly 8,000 peer-reviewed titles. Magazine and newspaper articles are also included. Coverage includes biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & philosophy, science & technology, veterinary science, and more.
Research Library (Proquest) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary resource featuring a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other sources across 150 subject areas.
JSTOR Archival Journals This link opens in a new window Full-text scholarly and peer-reviewed journal articles across many disciplines. Please note this archive does not include current issues -- a three to five year delay is typical for most publications. Coverage includes economics, philosophy, political science, language and literature, history, art and art history, archaeology, classics, music, film studies, psychology, health policy, public policy, folklore, performing arts, religion, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window Topic overviews and opinions on hundreds of today's most controversial social issues. Includes pro/con viewpoint essays; full-text magazine, academic journal, and news articles; more than 300 primary source documents; court-case overviews; biographies; statistical tables, charts, and graphs; images, videos; audio files, and links to vetted websites.

Tutorials and guides for using these databases can be found on the More Ways to Search page of this guide.

More information on scholarly sources can be found on the More About Scholarly Sources page of this guide.

How To Find Newspaper Articles

Once you are looking at a results list, use the limiters on the left-hand side (under "Refine your results") to specify what type of article you want.

For newspaper articles, click on "Newspapers search" (in blue) under "Resource Type":

In addition to OneSearch, the following databases (found on the Library's A-Z database list) are great choices for finding newspaper articles:

U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window Full-text access to nearly 1,000 news outlets, including exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times (1985 to current), New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers.
Gale OneFile News This link opens in a new window Full-text newspaper database searchable by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. Includes more than 1,000 publications
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

Tutorials and guides for using these databases can be found on the More Ways to Search page of this guide.

How To Find Magazine Articles

Once you are looking at a results list, use the limiters on the left-hand side (under "Refine your results") to specify what type of article you want.

For magazine articles, click on "Magazine Articles" under "Resource Type":

In addition to OneSearch, the following databases (found on the Library's A-Z database list) are great choices for finding magazine articles:

Research Library (Proquest) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary resource featuring a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other sources across 150 subject areas.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database that provides full-text for more than 9,000 journals, including nearly 8,000 peer-reviewed titles. Magazine and newspaper articles are also included. Coverage includes biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & philosophy, science & technology, veterinary science, and more.
Popular Magazines This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from more than 1,000 magazines with a strong focus on current events, sports, science and health.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window Topic overviews and opinions on hundreds of today's most controversial social issues. Includes pro/con viewpoint essays; full-text magazine, academic journal, and news articles; more than 300 primary source documents; court-case overviews; biographies; statistical tables, charts, and graphs; images, videos; audio files, and links to vetted websites.

Tutorials and guides for using these databases can be found on the More Ways to Search page of this guide.