Heads up: OneSearch doesn't have everything! Check out the tabs below to search for more specific types of information. For more help searching, visit the Search Effectively page.
Also known as "Scholarly Articles," "Peer-Reviewed Articles," or "Academic Articles," these are:
Documents the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic groups in the United States. Their stories are detailed through a collection of primary and secondary sources, beginning with pre-16th century Mayan, Incan, and Aztec empires and continuing through to the present day, with treatment also given to cultural themes including coming-of-age rituals, music, literature, and cuisine. On the controversial issues shaping the modern Latino American experience—such as immigration reform, media portrayals, and voting access and influence—credentialed academics offer varied perspectives to serve as both sources and exemplars of scholarly argumentation. Includes more than 2,500 primary documents and media, including speeches, maps, songs, audio clips, interviews, and vivid historical photographs.
Unlike journal articles, scholarly books:
Remember: you may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!
Primary sources are sources that are written by authors that were alive during or close to the events about which they were writing.
Features of Primary Sources
Find Primary Sources:
Newspaper coverage of the Hispanic American experience from the early 18th century to the present day sourced from thousands of publications, including Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals.
Highlights the Chicano/a experience in the United States and the history and diversity of the community. The archive focuses on activists such as César Chávez, Dolores Huerta, Rodolfo "Corky" Gonzales, and other leaders of the Chicano Movement, aka El Movimiento. It also highlights important organizations and movements, such as the United Farm Workers, efforts toward land reclamation, student movements against discrimination in education, and more.
Documents the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic groups in the United States. Their stories are detailed through a collection of primary and secondary sources, beginning with pre-16th century Mayan, Incan, and Aztec empires and continuing through to the present day, with treatment also given to cultural themes including coming-of-age rituals, music, literature, and cuisine. On the controversial issues shaping the modern Latino American experience—such as immigration reform, media portrayals, and voting access and influence—credentialed academics offer varied perspectives to serve as both sources and exemplars of scholarly argumentation. Includes more than 2,500 primary documents and media, including speeches, maps, songs, audio clips, interviews, and vivid historical photographs.
In the field of History, it can be useful to use films and documentaries to better understand a research topic of interest. History students may want to find and watch documentaries in order to:
The following streaming video databases feature a wide coverage of content in the discipline of History.
Find Documentaries:
Multidisciplinary streaming video database with more than 62,000 titles curated for higher education. Alexander Street includes a range of scholarly video material including: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage. Also included are thousands of award-winning films, Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners along with new releases, archival material, and titles frequently used for classroom instruction.
Reporting hard data will add substance to your sociological research. Remember, data can be represented in different ways.
In the following video [3:54], you will learn how to select a resource appropriate to your information need, the importance of analyzing a resource’s capabilities and constraints, and how to determine if a resource has quality information.
Note: clicking on the image below will open the video in a new tab or window.
