Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites to Explore Themes from Just Mercy
ACLU Racial Profiling
The ACLU’s work on racial profiling encompasses major initiatives in litigation, public education, and advocacy, including lobbying for passage of data collection and anti-profiling legislation and litigating on behalf of individuals who have been victims of racial profiling by airlines, police, and government agencies.
A 2015/16 Guardian investigation revealed the true number of people killed by law enforcement, told the stories of who they were, and established the trends in how they died.
Death Penalty Information Center
National non-profit organization serving the media and the public with analysis and information on issues concerning capital punishment. The Center promotes informed discussion of the death penalty by preparing in-depth reports, conducting briefings for journalists, and serving as a resource to those working on this issue. The Center releases reports on various issues related to the death penalty such as arbitrariness, costs, innocence, and race. They also produce an annual report on the death penalty, highlighting significant developments and featuring the latest statistics.
Equal Justice Initiative
Bryan Stevenson is the executive director of Equal Justice Initiative, a non-profit organization that provides legal representation to indigent defendants and prisoners who have been denied fair treatment in the legal system. This website features reports, personal stories, fact sheets, statistics, and multimedia relating to the work done through EJI
Data collection project that attempts to create a comprehensive national database of people who are killed through interactions with police. This complex and rigorous project uses several processes of data collection to ensure a high level of validity.
The Innocence Project
National litigation and public policy organization dedicated to exonerating wrongfully convicted individuals through DNA testing and reforming the criminal justice system to prevent future injustice.
National Registry of Exonerations
A project of the University of Michigan Law School. The Registry provides detailed information about every known exoneration in the United States since 1989.
The Sentencing Project
Established in 1986, The Sentencing Project works for a fair and effective U.S. criminal justice system by promoting reforms in sentencing policy, addressing unjust racial disparities and practices, and advocating for alternatives to incarceration.
World Prison Brief
an online database providing free access to information on prison systems around the world. It is a unique resource, which supports evidence-based development of prison policy and practice globally. The ICPS conducts research on prisons and imprisonment; develops and disseminates knowledge about how imprisonment should be used; and contributes to improved policy and practice in prisons across the world. The site includes research and publications, briefings, and guides.
Prison to College Pipeline
Mississippi Penitentiary - Parchman Farm: bloodhounds and their trainers [n.d.]
Mississippi Penitentiary - Parchman Farm: Bloodhounds and their Trainers [n.d.]
Bureau of Justice Statistics
The mission of this U.S. government website is to "collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government." Browse by topic or search by keyword.
U.S. Census Bureau
The leading source of quality data about America's people and economy.
Youthful Offenders in the Federal System
This publication presents information about youthful offenders (age 25 or younger for purposes of this report), including their demographic characteristics, what type of offenses they were sentenced for, how they were sentenced, and the extent of their criminal histories. The report also discusses the intersection of neuroscience and law, and how this intersection has influenced the treatment of youthful offenders in the criminal justice system. (Published May 26, 2017)
Full-page NAACP ad in the N.Y. Times promoting the Dyer Anti-lynching Bill 1922. Available from ArtStor.
MLA 8th: Full-page NAACP ad in the N.Y. Times promoting the Dyer anti-lynching bill. 1922. Artstor, library-artstor-org.library.lavc.edu/asset/ARTSTOR_103_41822001634318
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.