Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research for your Career Paper Assignment for Counseling 20
There are many variables to consider when choosing a career. Personal interest is a good place to start, but other considerations include required degrees, job outlook, salary, quality of life, location, required skills, and more.
This guide will connect you to resources available both in the Library and around the web to support your research and encourage critical thinking around career choice.
Using Non-Library Websites to Explore Careers
Occupational Outlook Handbook
This website from the U.S. Department of Labor (Bureau of Labor Statistics) "provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; information on state and area data; similar occupations;" and more.
California Career Center
Career planning website with tools to help you map your future, whether looking ahead to college, apprenticeship, the military or other options.
California Career Zone
A career exploration and planning system designed especially for students. Includes occupation information from O*Net, plus career-related videos, job listings, and links to majors and colleges for each occupation.
Career One Stop
Employment information, information about careers by region and general career information.
Information on careers, resumes, interviews, and career transitions.
The O*NET system serves as the nation's primary source of occupational information, providing comprehensive information on key attributes and characteristics of workers and occupations. The O*NET database houses this data and provides easy access to that information.
The Riley Guide
A gateway for job search, career exploration and school information.
Use Library Databases to Find Other Kinds of Sources (Beyond Books)
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database that provides full-text for more than 9,000 journals, including nearly 8,000 peer-reviewed titles. Magazine and newspaper articles are also included. Coverage includes biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & philosophy, science & technology, veterinary science, and more.
Finding Library Books and eBooks on Careers
Try OneSearch to identify books, ebooks, articles and other Library resources related to your career or interests. Keep your search terms broad (for example: nursing career or graphic design career). There's a good chance your career will be covered in a book that collects information about many different careers, so you may want to consider searches like career choice or best jobs.
To find more options in OneSeach, try an Advanced Search like this:
Below you will find a few general books on career choice, but the Library has much more through OneSearch, which you can search anytime from the Library's homepage.
The Library has more than books and articles! We provide access to streaming video content that you may cite as a source!
Alexander Street This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary streaming video database with more than 62,000 titles curated for higher education. Alexander Street includes a range of scholarly video material including: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage. Also included are thousands of award-winning films, Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners along with new releases, archival material, and titles frequently used for classroom instruction.
Cite Your Sources
When you include outside sources in your research paper, you must let your reader know where you found the information (this includes paraphrasing and summarizing -- not just quotations).
You've probably heard the term "MLA Style." This is one way to provide attribution, or "cite your sources" as it is frequently called. There are many resources available through the Library and around the web to help you cite sources correctly using MLA Style.
Watch this video for guidance on formatting your MLA citations correctly. Beneath the video, you will find resources available through the Library and around the web to support correct use of MLA style.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.