OneSearch (the big search box on the Library homepage) is kind of a portal that searches the Library Catalog plus some of the Library databases at once. It's a good place to go when you're not sure where to start, or when your topic covers multiple disciplines.
When you go to the Library homepage, "All" and "Everything" are already selected. Search here to find all kinds of documents. On the next screen (on the left side), you can narrow down to just books, just magazine articles, etc. Click here to learn how to narrow down your search results.
If you know you're looking for articles from a peer-reviewed, academic/scholarly journal, choose "Scholarly articles only" before you start searching. If you do an advanced search after your initial search, make sure the "Peer Reviewed" box is still checked (click on "Show More" under the date slider, on the left side).
If you're only looking for books, choose "Books & ebooks only" before you start searching. If you don't want ebooks, on the next screen (on the left side), choose "Books (not ebooks)."
The Library subscribes to many databases, and not all of them are in OneSearch. Certain databases have extra features when you use them one at a time (rather than through OneSearch). Here are some individual databases that should work well for your assignment.
If you're writing about a controversial topic or a current event, these databases may help you see the big picture or different aspects of your topic, including multiple points of view. They contain a wide variety of sources, including "featured viewpoints" (which are opinion pieces) as well as journal, magazine, and newspaper articles; primary sources; and encyclopedia-like overviews or summaries.
The Library has many encyclopedias and dictionaries that, unlike Wikipedia, are considered credible sources ok for college use. Some are books in the Library building, and some are online on the Library website. Like Wikipedia (which is a type of encyclopedia), you do not have to be an expert to understand the language, and the information is organized in a way that's easy to read quickly. There are usually links or citations to find more information about that subject.
Below are some examples of reference books and ebooks from the LAVC Library. To access one, click on its title below.
The Concise Encyclopedia of the Great Recession, 2007-2012
Encyclopedia of Consumption and Waste
