Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG 21 (for Scavenger Hunt): Find Other Sources (Beyond Books)

Read This First!

Note: If you are off campus, you will have to log in to use the Library databases, and to look at anything other than books in OneSearch. For directions on how to log in, click here and then scroll down to Step 3.

Choosing Individual Databases

OneSearch (the search box on the Library homepage) is the best place to start when you're looking for sources to use for your classes, but it won't find everything the Library has. Sometimes, you'll want to try an option from this list of Library databases. A Library database is like a search engine (meaning, you can search it like Google), designed to help you succeed in college. You'll find thousands of sources in Library databases that aren't available through Google.

You can narrow that list down to focus on the best databases for your subject. For example (as shown in the graphic below), for an English class where you're writing about a novel, poem, or play, you can click on "All Subjects" in the upper left of your screen, and then click on "Literature." You'll get a shorter list of available resources for English.

For another example, in many sections of English 101, students have to write a "pro/con" research paper -- so it's not going to be about literature. For these, try the databases under "Pro/Con" and under "General and Multi-Topic."

Fun fact: When you use OneSearch (the search box on the Library homepage), you are searching some, but not all, of the Library databases from the A-Z list described above.

And Once You're in a Database...

...finding sources is usually pretty intuitive. Would you like to search databases like a pro? Start by reading this online guide about Finding Articles.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.