Find Sources - ENG 103 - Ghaffari - Fall 2019 - Los Angeles Valley College Library at Los Angeles Valley College

Find Help After Class

For more, go to Research Help on the library homepage.

Digital Resources Librarian

Meghan Cason

Email Me

Contact:

Library & Academic Resource Center,
Office 111D
818-947-7261

End-Of-Class Survey

Please take this quick survey before you leave today!

Articles

Use databases to find articles from academic journals, and from popular (non-academic) sources like magazines and newspapers.

Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches Gale's literature databases. Provides full-text literary content with tools to analyze information. Coverage includes authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Full-text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
JSTOR Archival Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly and peer-reviewed journal articles across many disciplines. Please note this archive does not include current issues -- a three to five year delay is typical for most publications. Coverage includes economics, philosophy, political science, language and literature, history, art and art history, archaeology, classics, music, film studies, psychology, health policy, public policy, folklore, performing arts, religion, and more.
Research Library (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary resource featuring a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other sources across 150 subject areas.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database that provides full-text for more than 9,000 journals, including nearly 8,000 peer-reviewed titles. Magazine and newspaper articles are also included. Coverage includes biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & philosophy, science & technology, veterinary science, and more.

Click here to read more about how to find articles.

Books & eBooks

Find Books (and more) in OneSearch
The OneSearch box on the Library's homepage will retrieve the Library's print books, eBooks and articles from a few of our databases.
Library Catalog (OPAC)
The Library's catalog only searches print books. You must come to the Library in person to borrow these materials.

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Thousands of eBooks across a broad range of subjects.

Reference Books

This list has both print books and e-books. To access one, click on its title below.

If it's a print book, you'll see "Retrieve Catalog Item" on left side of page -- click there to leave the OneSearch portal and enter our Library Catalog. Look for Valley College, make sure the book is available, and copy down the Call Number. Go get the book off the shelf.

If it's an e-book, you'll see "PDF Full Text" on left side of page. (If you're off campus, before you click there, sign in to OneSearch.) Click there to access the e-book.