Other Databases + Websites - Cinema 103 - Beal - Fall 2020 - Los Angeles Valley College Library at Los Angeles Valley College

Other Databases on the LAVC Library Website

After using OneSearch, try out some other databases on the Library website in order to find even more sources for your paper. Our entire list of databases can be found by clicking on the green "Databases" button on the Library homepage. Our recommendations for this assignment are listed below.

Heads up: If you are using the Library website from off-campus, you will eventually be required to "log in." When that time comes, please follow these directions for logging into the Library website from off-campus. Occasionally, dual enrollment students experience problems logging in, even though they are following the directions correctly. If you are unable to log in, please email us ASAP at ref@lavc.libanswers.com and we will find a solution. In your email, make sure to tell us exactly what you are using for your username and password.

Best Database for Historical Context

U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
This database will help you place your chosen group into the larger history of America (remember Research Strategy #2 from earlier in this guide?). How is this history reflected in film and TV representations? Content comes in the form of articles (reference, magazine, newspaper, academic journal), primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to websites.

The video (1:38) below will give you a quick overview of U.S. History in Context; however, for in-depth, step-by-step help with using U.S. History in Context, we recommend taking a look at our Opposing Viewpoints in Context Guide. Although the guide focuses on a different database, it is made by the same company (Gale) and looks/operates exactly the same as U.S. History in Context.

U.S. History in Context Tips: click on the "Browse Topics" button (located near the top of the U.S. History in Context homepage) and take a look at their pages for different decades in the 1900s (e.g. 1930s, 1940s, 1950s, etc.), then...

Look for articles under the "Reference" category -- these are usually the best way to get a feel for the major social issues that were happening at that time.
The "Related Topics" at the bottom of each page will also help you get a more complete picture of that time period.
Use the "Search within results" feature to look for specific words/phrases (like the name of a particular group) within a set of articles.

Best Databases for Streaming Media (Video/Film)
Use the 2 databases below to try and find videos or films related to your topic. Start by trying some of the same searches we used earlier (e.g. Asian Americans in film or African American portrayals on television); however, if you're having trouble finding videos on your exact topic, you can broaden your search to find videos on more general topics (like ethnic studies, media arts, American history, diversity, etc.) that can help you form the entire picture surrounding your chosen racial group's representation over time. Additionally, you might be able to find/watch the actual films and television shows you're referencing in your paper!

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window

The video tutorials linked below will give you a quick introduction to the databases. We also recommend taking a look at Alexander Street's "All Channels" page and Films on Demand's "Explore Subjects" page to help get you started with browsing and finding relevant material.

Examples of videos/films for this assignment (Library login required):

Did you use the streaming databases above for your paper? Make sure you're citing the video/film correctly in MLA style.

Other Websites

LAVC librarians recommend conducting the vast majority of your research through the Valley College Library website (instead of Google); however, there are some occasions when other, outside websites might be really helpful. For this particular assignment, we recommend 2 outside websites that we think might be help you with your research paper: IMDb and Wikipedia.

The Internet Movie Database (IMDb)
IMDb is the world's most popular and authoritative source for information on movies, TV shows and celebrities. In your case, it will be great for finding out specific information (like release dates and names of cast and production crew) about the television shows and movies you're writing about in your paper.
Wikipedia
Your college professors will usually tell you that you CAN'T use Wikipedia as a source for your papers, but that doesn't mean you can't look at it! Wikipedia is GREAT for background research--you can look up a complex topic (like "otherness" or "whiteness" or even "[ethnic group] representation in film/media") and quickly get a feel for it without having to read too much. Even though you won't cite Wikipedia articles in your paper, they can still give you ideas for further research and lead you to other sources that you CAN include in your paper!

Did you use one of the websites above for your research paper? Make sure you're citing it correctly in MLA style.