Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary & Secondary Sources
"The raw materials of history — original documents and objects which were created at the time under study."
- Newspaper or magazine articles
- Books, pamphlets, government documents
- Diaries, letters, manuscripts, speeches, interviews, relics, artifacts
- Maps, archival materials, creative works
- Art, visual materials, music, sound recordings, videos
Source: Using Primary Sources by Library of Congress.. / Image Source: Primary Source Graphic by adstarkel. Used under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0.
"Accounts or interpretations of events created by someone without firsthand experience."
Video (3:53): Primary & Secondary Sources
How To Find Primary Sources On The LAVC Library Website
Best LAVC Databases For Finding Primary Sources
In addition to the websites discussed in the video above, you can also find a wealth of primary source documents through the LAVC LIbrary website by searching the databases listed below.
Milestone Documents in American History This link opens in a new window
Full-text primary source documents from American History with expert analysis and commentary.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Coverage of significant people, events and topics in U.S. history. Full-text content includes reference, magazine, academic journal, and news articles; also included are primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Coverage of significant people, events and topics in world history. Full-text content includes reference, magazine, academic journal, and news articles; also included are primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Video (2:18): 5 Awesome Primary Source Websites
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.