Other Databases + Websites - Communication 101 - Toth - Spring 2021 - Los Angeles Valley College Library at Los Angeles Valley College

Quick Links

Other LAVC Databases

After using OneSearch, try out some other databases on the Library website in order to find even more sources for your speech. Our entire list of databases can be found by clicking on the green "Databases" button on the Library homepage. Our recommendations for this assignment are listed below.

Heads up: If you are using the Library website from off-campus, you will eventually be required to log in. When that time comes, please follow these directions for logging into the Library website from off-campus. If you are having trouble logging in, please email us at ref@lavc.libanswers.com and we will find a solution. In your email, please tell us exactly what you are using for your username and password.

Best Databases for Up-To-Date Info on Current Issues

Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Topic overviews and opinions on hundreds of today's most controversial social issues. Includes pro/con viewpoint essays; full-text magazine, academic journal, and news articles; statistical tables, charts, and graphs; images, videos; audio files, and links to vetted websites.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Focuses on current events and controversial issues. Written by journalists, CQ's reports are footnoted and fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports.

For in-depth help with using the databases linked above, please refer to the following guides:

Best Databases for Streaming Media (Video/Film)
Use the 2 databases linked below to try and find videos or films related to your topic. Start by trying some of the same searches we used earlier (e.g. pollution and coral reefs or human impact on coral reefs); however, if you're having trouble finding videos on your exact topic, you can broaden your search to find videos on more general topics (like coral reefs and their ecosystems in general) that can help you form a more complete picture surrounding your issue.

Additionally, you might be able to find examples of actual persuasive/informational speeches! Just add the word "speech" to any one of your searches to see if you can find examples.

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary streaming video database with more than 62,000 titles curated for higher education. Alexander Street includes a range of scholarly video material including: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage. Also included are thousands of award-winning films, Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners along with new releases, archival material, and titles frequently used for classroom instruction.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
With more than 40,000 titles, Films on Demand features content that will both educate and entertain, covering a wide range of curricular subjects, including history, biology, business and economics, engineering, computer science, technical and trade skills, art and architecture, music and dance, philosophy and religion, geography, environmental science, anthropology, language and literature, mathematics, psychology, sociology, political science, and more. Producers include A&E, PBS, BBC Learning, National Geographic, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, HBO Documentary Films, PBS NewsHour, Open University, Bill Moyers, California Newsreel, Annenberg Learner, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more.

The video tutorials linked below will give you a quick introduction to the databases. We also recommend taking a look at Alexander Street's "All Channels" page and Films on Demand's "Explore Subjects" page to help get you started with browsing and finding relevant material.

Did you use the streaming databases above for your paper? Make sure you're citing the video/film correctly in MLA style.

Other Websites

LAVC librarians recommend conducting the vast majority of your research through the Valley College Library website (instead of Google); however, there are some occasions when other, outside websites might be really helpful. For this particular assignment, we can recommend at least one website that we think might be helpful with your research: Wikipedia.

Wikipedia
Your college professors will usually tell you that you CAN'T use Wikipedia as a source for your assignments, but that doesn't mean you can't look at it! Wikipedia is GREAT for background research--you can look up a complex topic (like "environmental issues with coral reefs") and quickly get a feel for it without having to read too much. Even though you won't cite Wikipedia articles in your speech, they can still give you ideas for further research and lead you to other sources that you CAN include in your speech!

Do you want to cite Wikipedia? Make sure you're citing it correctly in MLA style. More on citations on the next page of this guide.