Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Coronavirus Resource Guide: Video, Documentaries and TV

A guide to free resources for the temporary campus closure due to COVID-19.

Streaming Film & Video

Films On Demand Logo

Films On Demand offers documentary and educational films. Producers include A&E, PBS, BBC Learning, National Geographic, HBO Documentary Films, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more.

Swank Motion Pictures Logo

Swank provides 24/7 streaming access to course-related feature films.

Alexander Street Logo

Alexander Street is a multidisciplinary streaming video database with more than 62,000 titles, including thousands of award-winning films, Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners along with new releases, archival material, and titles frequently used for classroom instruction.

Digitalia Film Library

Digitalia Film Library offers streaming access to thousands of feature films and documentaries. Available via LA Public Library.

Hoopla Logo

Hoopla has a wide variety of streaming films for free, available via LA Public Library.

Kanopy Logo

Kanopy has more than 26,000 films available, including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.

Users can create a Kanopy account via LAVC or LA Public Library to use this service.

Prelinger Archives Logo

The Prelinger Archives contains over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films. Many are available for download and re-use in new projects. 

Internet Archive

The Internet Archive has a vast collection of Cultural & Academic films, listed here

Free TV

PBS Logo

PBS streams free programming as shows air on local stations. 

Click on a network below for more info about free TV programs available to watch online:

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.