A multi-disciplinary database that provides full-text for more than 9,000 journals, including nearly 8,000 peer-reviewed titles. Magazine and newspaper articles are also included. Coverage includes biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & philosophy, science & technology, veterinary science, and more.
Topic overviews and opinions on hundreds of today's most controversial social issues. Includes pro/con viewpoint essays; full-text magazine, academic journal, and news articles; more than 300 primary source documents; court-case overviews; biographies; statistical tables, charts, and graphs; images, videos; audio files, and links to vetted websites.
Full-text access to nearly 1,000 news outlets, including exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times (1985 to current), New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Covers the historically underrepresented realities of indigenous peoples in the United States. Reference content is organized by time period, with coverage spanning precontact America to modern native nations. Advanced search options make content also discoverable by region, state, or tribe, with applicable filters to refine by resource type. Provides both primary sources and expertly authored secondary sources. Topic-oriented scholarly essays address topics such as cultural appropriation, reparations, and international sovereignty from multiple perspectives.
This primary source news collection includes centuries of Asian American history, culture, and daily life—as well as the ways popular culture has portrayed and perceived people of Asian descent. Sourced from thousands of American and global news sources, coverage spans from the early 18th century to the modern era.
Cross-disciplinary reference database containing millions of entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, and readers. In addition to full-text content, this resource includes videos, animations, visual aids, images, photographs, and maps.
Digital streaming collection of full-length performances including Shakespearean plays, modern dramas, classical music, dance, musicals, opera, and adaptations of classic novels.
Collection of 2,000+ plays by the world's leading dramatists, both classic and contemporary. Includes titles from Bloomsbury’s imprints, Methuen Drama and The Arden Shakespeare, as well as Faber and Faber.
The TCG Books Play Collection offers 200 plays from TCG Books, the largest independent trade publisher of dramatic literature in North America. TCG Books’ backlist consists of diverse voices in contemporary American theatre, including 18 winners of the Pulitzer Prize for Drama. The collection is exclusive to Drama Online.
Popular fiction and nonfiction ebooks and audiobooks to read/listen to on your phone, tablet, browser, or Kindle e-reader. Materials can also be accessed directly through the Libby app. Download the app and search for Los Angeles Valley College.
Covers the social, political, and economic forces that have shaped the experiences of Asian Americans in distinct historical eras, from the 16th century global migrations through the social and political developments in the 21st century. Includes scholarly perspectives on issues of enduring importance to the Asian American community and Asian Studies researchers and primary sources such as images, audio clips, documents, and video. Provides an interdisciplinary approach to understanding the historical and current experiences of persons of Asian ancestry in the United States, including coverage of Native Hawaiians and other Pacific Island and indigenous groups.
Access primary and analytical law sources, including the full text of all federal and state U.S. cases. Coverage also includes news, trade publications, company information, and more.
